The Future of the Faculty Committee

Image previewThe Future of the Faculty committee's purpose is to review policies, processes, and practices at UNC Charlotte that might impede the recruitment, retention, and full professional development of faculty members, particularly women faculty in the Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) areas.

The committee examines data, recommends policy changes, reviews evaluation reports on ADVANCE programs and recommends program changes, monitors institutional progress towards ADVANCE goals, and advises UNC Charlotte administration on the general adoption of successful practices. The committee seeks to remove policy barriers that are judged to prohibit the implementation of effective recruiting and retention practices.

The committee reviews key institutional documents such as the Academic Affairs Personnel Handbook; college and department recruitment practices; evaluation mechanisms for chairs at the time of reappointment; annual data on equity by gender and race/ethnicity (hiring, promotion, start-up packages) and ADVANCE program progress; the effectiveness of current family leave policies; and the outcomes of ADVANCE initiatives.

The review process informs committee efforts to recommend policy changes; seeks creative mechanisms to meet the childcare/eldercare needs of faculty; explores mechanisms to retain STEM women through flexibility in appointments and re-entry programs; and examines and makes recommendations concerning increased flexibility in the tenure clock.

Committee on the Future of the Faculty Members Offer Leadership in Policy Considerations

  • Dr. Nan Fey-Yensan, Committee Chair, Dean, College of Health and Human Services
  • Dr. Yvette Huet, ex officio, Department of Kinesiology, Director, UNC Charlotte ADVANCE Faculty Affairs and Diversity Office
  • Dr. Richard Leeman, ex officio, Faculty Governance President, Dept. of Communication Studies, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Dr. Dean Adams, Associate Dean of Performing Arts Services, College of Arts and Architecture
  • Dr. Susan Trammell, Dept. of Physics and Optical Science, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Dr. Susan Sell, Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies, College of Health and Human Services
  • Dr. Stephanie Woods, School of Nursing, College of Health and Human Services
  • Ms.Catherine Mitchell, Assistant General Counsel, Office of Legal Affairs
  • Dr. Leslie Zenk, Assistant Provost, Academic Affairs